Down to Business

singlecard

It seems not many people use business cards for personal contact anymore. With all the social media connections it almost seems pointless to have one, unless you have your own business you need to promote, or are in a formal business position. Personally, I love business cards, they encourage creativity and they let you know a little bit about a person just by looking at the style.

Having graduated University recently, I have been trying to put myself out there a little more than usual, and I thought it would be useful to have a business card of my own. But I didn’t just want any plain old card, I wanted one that was fun, whimsical and captured a feeling of who I was. Not to mention I would probably need them when I go to Blogshop in Vancouver (which starts tomorrow!)

I perused Pinterest and the vastness of the internet for inspiration. I had a number of idea renderings, but I thought for sure I wanted something with watercolors. Like an ombre effect with a pretty punched out detail in the corner. Yes! I would print my information on watercolor paper and then paint each card and boom! There I would have these soft, gorgeous cards.

But things don’t work like that. Not only couldn’t I find the card punch that I had dreamed of in my head, the watercolor paper I had purchased got jammed in my printer. I toyed with a plan B of painting the cards and then writing my info by hand, but I also realized I have no skills in watercolor painting at all. The flowy visual I had in my head was definitely NOT what I had on paper. (To save myself the embarrassment I did not take a photo of the sopping mess my watercolor experiment happened to be.)

Don't worry, there's actually not an awkward gap in the middle of the card. That's where my contact info is. Not that I don't trust you guys, but this IS the internet.

Don’t worry, there’s actually not an awkward gap in the middle of the card. That’s where my contact info is. Not that I don’t trust you guys, but this IS the internet.

So I moved onto the totally new plan C. I wanted my card to be simple but have a burst of color. I decided on a few words describing my current areas of experience, and my contact info. Design skills, marketing experience and a love for color and pattern. (And before you tell me that I made a typo, marketeer is a word! It means one who works in marketing. Marketer sounded too close to telemarketer to me. Plus it sounds like musketeer hehe.)

I love typography so much in design. I wanted it to be a focal point. However I am really indecisive and I ended up making 4 different versions with varying fonts, so that took a while. It didn’t help the decision process that I had recently gone on a few download rampages for new fonts. I’ll post my favorites fonts in a little while. A non-standard font can give just the extra oomph to any design, and that is exactly what I wanted.

web2

Once I finally decided on a font, I made a grid layout for how many cards would print on a card stock page. I kept my cards at a standard 2″x 3″ dimension, so I could fit 10 cards on a page. I printed out two sheets to give me twenty cards, an amount I figured would be a good starting point.

chop, chop, slice, slice

chop, chop, slice, slice

From there I sliced out the cards to their size. You’ll notice that I varied the colors in the cards, I thought it would be another fun touch to make each card a little more individual. For the rest of the pop of color, I dug out a pad of scrapbook paper in colors and patterns that I loved. I bought it on sale a few weeks previous and it was the perfect touch to add some color to my cards.

glue

I matched the colors on the front to different patterns, and glued them onto the back of the scrapbook paper with rubber cement. I then cut them out, and used a scalloped edge punch I had, (also from the scrapbooking drawer) and made a pretty edge for a final touch.

Note: If you are attempting this process, make sure you have a boyfriend on hand to un-jam the hole punch.

Note: If you are attempting this project, make sure you have a boyfriend on hand to un-jam the hole punch.

And voila! I LOVE the way these turned out. Simple and classic, yet lots of color and pretty patterns. Totally me!

allthecards!

If you are looking to make your own cards, but don’t have Photoshop or similar program, just download some unique fonts and you could totally use a business card template page and have something original with a ‘design-y’ feel. And don’t be afraid to experiment with out of the box ideas and methods. Some will work and some won’t but it’s all part of the process. One day I hope to have a business card worthy of the ones at Alt Summit. One day…

3 thoughts on “Down to Business

  1. I love it! They are wonderful, personal, and well made. I have seen some homemade ones that appear to have gone horribly wrong. I just took a class for (required for my major) on professionalism and ethics. My professor pushed us all to get/make business cards and they do make such a difference, I think especially since not many people tend to have them anymore and it stands out. Well done!

  2. Pingback: Ain’t No Party Like a Crafting Party | Boots and Cats

Leave a Reply

