Spread The Love- Liebster Award

Liebster

Last week I was checking up on the blog, and to my lovely surprise I was nominated for a Leibster award! The talented Eclectic Threads did me the honor. (Make sure you check out her blog too. It is full of all types of sewing and vintage love.) I was a little giddy that someone thought my blog was good enough to share with their readers, I couldn’t not do the same. (Plus we are in the middle of moving and chaos so all my crafting supplies are packed up!)

Basically this award is like a big collaborative love fest, where, in the style of those email chain letters we sent in jr. high, we nominate other small blogs to get their names out and encouraging people to discover new blogs. It works like this; you begin by sharing 11 facts about yourself, followed by answering 11 questions that you were asked, then nominating 11 other small (less than 200 followers, though when I googled some people go by less than 3000 followers, but anyway) blogs, and leaving 11 questions for them to answer. What fun. Here we go!

award

Phase 1- 11 Facts

1. I love cats. Didn’t you know? I remember checking out books about cats from the school library in elementary. The greatest day of my young life was getting my cat Cinnamon in 1998. So I loved cats before it was cool. (How hipster of me…)

2. I also really like tomatoes. Like, I will eat the big ones fresh like an apple. Rory thinks they are the grossest thing. Guess it means we are a good match. I get to eat all his discarded tomatoes.

3. My current fitness activity is hula hooping. It is so much fun and there are endless tricks and variations you can just keep spinning all day!

4. I have never traveled anywhere outside Canada or the United States. Though it is definitely not from lack of want. I am at the age in my life where at least 3 people I know are travelling in Europe or Asia or Australia at any given time. It’s hard to not be jealous. One day!

5. My university degree was in Clothing and Textiles. We covered everything there is to do with the concept of clothing from costume history, pattern drafting, design, material culture studies, surface design, textile sciences and business. I came out of there very well rounded, but now I want to focus on print design.

6. I am naturally blonde. I don’t think it suits me though.

7. I have a small (but growing) collection of vintage dresses that I love but I never wear out of fear of ruining them.

8. I hate my handwriting. I feel like it looks messy, and not in a good way. I am eternally striving for cute, pretty, flowy script.

9. I have a mild journal addiction. In that every time I see a pretty notebook or journal, I have to have it. Even if I don’t need it. At the moment I have 5 different blank books waiting to have something written in them.

10. Growing up, my favorite movie was Legally Blonde. I still know all the words to it. If you asked me today I don’t really know what I would say. I like a lot of different things for a lot of different reasons.

11. My latest television obsession may or may not be watching old episodes of Reboot.

Phase 2- 11 Answers

1. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you choose? Hmm, that is a toughie. Right now I probably will say Montreal, but there are so many other places I haven’t visited yet to know if I would want to live there or not. Maybe somewhere in Europe.

2. What is the favourite age you’ve been so far? Right now! It’s such an exciting time; being done school, starting new creative endeavors, planning new adventures. It’s perfect.

3. What was your favourite subject at school? I obviously loved Fashion/sewing class, as well as Art and Drama, but I also had a soft spot for History.

4. If you could go back in time and live in any era, which would it be? The late 50’s/ Early 60’s. I have been told many a time I am living in the wrong era.

5. What is your fail-safe dinner-party recipe? Chocolate, toffee and Bailey’s trifle.

6. What animal are you most like? A cat. I sleep in without even meaning to, can be shy at first and I like to bat around shiny things.

7. Do you have a life plan, or do you prefer to coast along and take things as they come? I like to plan things relatively short term, within a year- 3 years , to let life intervene as it may, but always having the big dreams in the back of my mind.

8. If you could only eat one thing for the rest of your life, what would it be? My first instinct tells me cheese, but I am going to be smart about this and say my Grandpa’s homemade slurpin’ soup. (There are spaghetti noodles in it) It is full of vegetables and noodles and goodness, so I could pick apart components as I got tired of eating the same meal again and again.

9. What is your most treasured possession? I am big on memories, so my photos and journals I have been keeping since I was pretty young.

10. What is your favourite Disney film? Beauty and the Beast.

11. Name five people, dead or alive, fictional or real, that you would invite to your dream dinner party. I think I would want a beautifully planned dinner party with women who are ambitious, strong willed and have amazing style. Coco Chanel, Audrey Hepburn, Brigitte Bardot, Garance Dore and Elsie Larson. I have no idea how the conversation would go.

Phase 3- 11 Blogs

Here are my 11 blogs I am nominating. I didn’t check their exact numbers of followers, so some may have more than 200, but I don’t care. These blogs are a huge influence to me and inspire me in very different ways, and I want to share them with you!

Retro Reporter– An awesome blog to read for vintage gals! Laurie is so stylish and has some pretty awesome posts about living the vintage girl life in the modern world.

Peaches and Mischief– An inspiring blog from a gal I met at Blogshop in Vancouver. She has an amazing aesthetic that is really refreshing to see as she shares style posts and downloadables.

Squirrelley Minds– Another fellow Blogshopper, Tan has an impeccably crafted blog and shares beautiful crafty DIY’s often. Its a pretty amazing blog to start following.

C’est Moi [Say-mouah]– I met Julianna in our University program and loved her style and enthusiasm. She captures both wholeheartedly in her blog where she mostly shares her photography work.

TEXTURES– This is the blog of Montreal based textile wholesaler, Télio. Here they share inspirations, fabrics and DIYs almost daily. It’s a fairly new blog, but it is already on my daily gotta-check-it list.

The Design Center– This is another fabric inspiration site that I love. Based from The Design Center at Philadelphia University, this tumblr posts daily images of vintage textile swatches.

Danger De Lux– This is a really unique blog focusing on retro and rockabilly lifestyle and fashion. The style posts are my favorite. She also has her own accessories line she sells on Etsy. So much fun.

The Advantage of Doing  This blog is full of inspiration and stories of people who aren’t afraid to go for their dreams. The author is a writer and avid traveler, so it is an easy read and there are fun stories. It hasn’t been updated recently since she is off traveling the world. So lucky.

Cupcakes and Asanas– Claire has some really cool craft projects going on, and her posts are always really fun and upbeat to read. And who doesn’t love cupcakes, too?

Canvas and Thread I love following blogs of textile designers, and this is no exception. I love seeing inspiration and process. Plus she has the cutest SpoonFlower shop.

Danielle S. Fuechtmann– Danielle has an exciting spirit and it is fun to read her posts. She has some serious style and she covers local fashion events, but I think one of my favorite segments has been Manners Monday.

Phase 4- 11 Questions

1. What inspired you to start blogging?

2. What is your best pick-me-up song?

3. If you could be someone else for one day, who would you be?

4. Do you have any ‘unique’ talents?

5. What is your favorite piece of literature?

6. Do you have a signature fashion style or do you mix it up a lot?

7. Do you have a hipster ‘thing’ (Something you loved before it was cool)?

8. What is your favorite season?

9. Have you ever had a near-death experience?

10. What is the best gift you’ve ever received?

11. Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

4 thoughts on “Spread The Love- Liebster Award

  1. Pingback: For Cinnamon. | Boots and Cats

Leave a Reply

