DIY Summer Shorts // Part 1

header2

I am back, life is settling back to normal and the sun is shining! (Finally!) The warm sunny days has inspired me with a whole mess of new projects. This first one is a great one for anyone who has basic sewing skills, and has had a favorite pair of jeans that have done this… favorite-pants-with-holes Holes in the knees! And not the good distressed kind, the obvious I-have-worn-these-jeans-so-much-the-knee-has-popped-through kind. Patches and stitching the holes shut is one type of solution, but not the prettiest, and as someone who finds it difficult to find good jeans I didn’t want to toss them. So why not cut them into shorts?! measure-twice The first step was marking where I wanted to cut. I tried last summer to do the same type of project but I cut the legs off while it was flat on the ground. Having them flat didn’t account for the fact that my body is 3-d, so a straight line on the ground was definitely not even once I put my shorts on. So this time I drew a sharpie guide line around the length I wanted to cut while I was wearing them. (I wanted them to be longer, trail shorts instead of short shorts) chop Then it was choppin’ time. hem I wanted to model these shorts after a pair I had long ago, so I wanted to have a large hem at the bottom. I didn’t want to create too much bulk so I folded under the hem once. Once I wash these, the hem might fray. Because it is such a large hem I hope the frays don’t peek out the bottom, and if they do, i’ll just snip the threads with scissors. If you wanted you could serge or zig-zag stitch along the raw edge to keep from fraying. I measured my hem 5 cm up all the way around. pin-and-nom To make sure that I had an even hemline on the outside of my shorts, I flipped my shorts inside out to pin. whirr I then fed it through my sewing machine and made sure that my hemline was straight. (I have notoriously ziggy lines)

Et Voila! A brand spankin’ new pair of shorts that I know fit me perfectly, plus are already soft and broken in. But something special is kind of missing. part2 Can you guess what is going to happen in part 2?

Leave a Reply

