Creative Studio

welcome

It’s been a long time coming, and there’s still a long time left to go in the set up and organization of my creative space. I finally have the opportunity to have a space of my own to create things, that I can leave as a complete mess for a while if I need to, and no one else will mess with it.

wholespace

The next big step, now that the space is functional, is to add things to the walls. I hate the fact that we are renting a place with beige walls (I really wished for white) so I am probably going to cover them up as much as possible. I have a couple prints waiting for frames and I want to hunt down a thread spool rack to hang above my machine.supplies

I made sure to allow myself access to sewing and crafting projects, without creating too much clutter for either.

brightlight

dress

Before people start asking; no the dress on the form is not something I made, nor is it for a special event. Basically it is a vintage dress I was given that I don’t have a proper hanger for yet. I didn’t want it to get damaged, so here it sits until I can store it properly.

buttons

shoesThough everything is fairly neutral, I like to accent the space with small pops of color. This is also the reason I love having my fabric on display in the shelf instead of tucked away.

popsofcolor

storageEach of the drawers in the dresser next to the desk is curated and organized for ease of use. I have drawers for paper/cards, painting supplies, scrapbooking, and wooden/felt/foamy projects.

vintage-patterns

And speaking of vintage…there is a huge file box currently residing under the desk filled with old sewing patterns from my grandmothers. Many of these will be projects one day, so keep an eye out!

I hope you enjoyed this peek into my space. Moving is serious business and can be a huge drain on your creative outlet. I am so relieved to have this space up and running again so I can get back to making things!

Leave a Reply

