365 Day Challenge

challenge2

The other day I had an epiphany. It really shouldn’t have been one, since it was something I have been told multiple times over, read articles about and it wasn’t a concept new to me whatsoever. But basically I was thinking to myself one day how I’d like to be a textile designer and illustrator. “It’s just that I don’t like my drawing style and I am not very good at it” I would say.  Somehow expecting to wake up one day with the skills that I had been missing. Then it hit me “Why don’t I start practicing my drawing skills? I bet if I did it more often I would improve over time.”

Light bulb.

It has been said that it takes 10,000 hours to become a master of something, so if I wanted to be an illustrator, why wasn’t I illustrating? Like at all? Really, it doesn’t make sense. So henceforth and forthwith I have decided to start drawing and sketching more frequently. I decided to build the habit, I would make it into a 365 challenge. Many bloggers I have seen have taken on a 365 and I thought it would be fun too. I won’t post all 365 days of sketches (I am sure some would be pretty embarrassing), but I’ll share snippets of progress along the way.

threehundredsixtyfive

It also happened so nicely that the day after this epiphany my Rag and Bone blank page sketchbook arrived. The perfect pretty vessel for this challenge. I decided that the things I wanted to improve most were object sketching and hand-written typography. I am going to keep my ‘rules’ to a minimum as to allow myself to draw as I please, but for the most part I think each day page will have a theme- a worded heading with a page full of things that reflect the theme. But some days might just be random doodles. It’s all part of the journey.

flora

I look forward to a year from now and see how far I have come. This is the first time I have concsiously focused on improving my skills in this way. Quite the experiment it will be I am sure. Have you ever tried a 365 challenge?

leschatons

Some of my favorite 365 challenges:

Elsie’s 365 Days at Home

The Uniform Project

Refashionista’s 366 Project

365 Days of Dining

5 thoughts on “365 Day Challenge

  1. Pingback: 2013 Post Round-up | Boots and Cats

  2. Pingback: Sketching lately | Boots and Cats

Leave a Reply

