Glitter Paper Bunting

glitter-bunting-header

I feel like I have been talking about my birthday forever! It was such a fun event, but the decorations are some of the ones I am most proud of. Today’s tutorial is for a mini golden glitter paper bunting that, while perfect for my party, still remains hanging in my apartment since it has a nice festive touch. To me, anything with glitter = holiday.

supplies

What you’ll need is:

  • Glitter coated card stock
  • String
  • Sewing machine
  • Glue
  • (Not pink glitter as shown, I’ll explain later)

measure-and-cut

First, measure how large you want your bunting to be. I wanted the strand to be mini, so the triangles have a 3 cm base. I then drew the point at the halfway mark and traced the diagonal. Mirror the shape on and trace on your whole sheet. As you cut them out, cut them out as diamonds.

fold

Once cut, fold your diamonds in half to make the triangles. About 1 cm down from the fold, stitch the two sides together. This will leave a small ‘tube’ at the top for threading. If you want extra security, dab a bit of glue in between the bottom halves so they don’t open.

Before hanging them, I wanted to try adding some pink glitter to every second or third triangle for a touch of dimension. The intention was to cover the triangles with white glue and sprinkle glitter on top, but lets just say it didn’t work.

stitch-and-tie

With a safety pin tied to the end of your string, thread it through the opening. To keep the triangles from sliding, tie a knot on either side. I measured the knots at 5cm to keep my bunting evenly spaced.

IMG_9730

That’s it! Such an easy project, that took maybe 3 hours total to complete. I have mine hanging with some white mini lights in my living room, with a small section hanging on the front door.

I hope everyone is having an awesome holiday season so far! Happy crafting!

Leave a Reply

