Ring in the New Year // Confetti Popper Printables

How to make your own confetti launcher. plus FREE printable // Boots & Cats

I guess it’s time to say it, 2014 is another year gone by. Many people get nostalgic at this time, looking back at what they’ve accomplished this past year. They then get proactive and start planning the next. While I do participate in these rituals to a degree, this year there is only one thing on my mind: PARTY!

Growing up, I would always see these glamorous New Years’ Eve parties on TV and in the magazines. Sparkles, champagne, fancy dresses, balloon drops. I saw this and I couldn’t wait to be old enough to go to those parties. Then I grew up and noticed that they weren’t as common as they appeared to be. So in an effort to make sparkly dreams come true some friends and I teamed up and are planning the ultimate glamour party to ring in 2015. It couldn’t be more exciting.

How to make your own confetti launcher. plus FREE printable // Boots & Cats

We’re making most of the evening’s decorations and accessories, from invitations and hats, to centerpieces and photo backdrops. Creating things from scratch has been really special and a lot of fun. One of my projects to prepare for the evening is one of my favourite things ever: confetti! No celebration is complete without clouds of confetti floating through the air, amirite?

I had initially planned to purchase pre-made confetti poppers off Etsy, but I wanted to have as many as possible and soon the price became prohibitive. So I got crafty and made my own.

To make these confetti poppers you need only a few things:

  • Dessert push-pop containers
  • Tissue paper/ribbon/cellophane/any confetti material
  • Card stock
  • Scissors
  • Double-sided tape

How to make your own confetti launcher. plus FREE printable // Boots & Cats

I designed custom New Years Eve labels for my confetti launchers, printed them on shimmery card stock and cut them out. (You can download the labels for free below). I wanted to see the pretty confetti on the inside, so I made the labels cover only part of the popper. Using a strip of double sided tape on the back of the label, I wrapped them around the circumference and for extra security used a matching piece of washi tape at the ends to keep them from peeling up.

How to make your own confetti launcher. plus FREE printable // Boots & Cats

For the confetti inside, I once again looked online and found for the amount of confetti I wanted, it was still more cost effective to make my own. I purchased a few sheets of tissue paper and grabbed my scissors. I kept the sheets of tissues nested together, cut them into strips, and then into squares. NOTE: If you are going this route, it is time consuming. Find yourself a good Netflix series before you start. For extra sparkly bits I took some metallic curling ribbon and cut it into little squares and I shredded other metallic wrapping materials hoarded from Christmas.

How to make your own confetti launcher. plus FREE printable // Boots & Cats

Once you have a sizable confetti mountain. Start to fill your poppers. You’ll noticed that the confetti compresses A LOT, so you’ll probably need twice as much as you originally thought. Once appropriately filled, snap the lid on and you are ready to ring in 2015 in style!

How to make your own confetti launcher. plus FREE printable // Boots & Cats

Hope you all had an amazing holiday and I wish you all a very happy New Year!

How to make your own confetti launcher. plus FREE printable // Boots & Cats

One thought on “Ring in the New Year // Confetti Popper Printables

  1. Pingback: Welcome, 2015 | Boots and Cats

Leave a Reply

