Welcome, 2015

Welcome 2015! // Boots & Cats

It’s the first weekend of a new year, a time to reflect, ponder, relax and refresh (according to every blog post I’ve read for the last week). 2014 was inspiring, fun and a year full of learning, so I am quite excited to be welcoming 2015. (Though the fact that in 6 months we’ll be closer to 2030 than 2000 is kind of frightening).

I think I need to work on my 'subtly disguising the camera remote' game

I think I need to work on my ‘subtly disguising the camera remote’ game

To celebrate 2015, friends and I put the confetti poppers to good use at our New Year’s Eve party. The affair was sparkly, joyous and fun, though prepping and hosting an event can be a little stressful. Some of that stress may be attributed to the fact that my dress wasn’t finished until about 6 pm, 2 hours before party time. I’d planned on finishing most of it on Dec 30th,  but late in the evening I noticed I had sewn in the lining in a way that had one of the shoulders all twisted and called it a night to avoid further mistakes (never sew while sleepy). I then woke up at 7am and decided I NEEDED to add pockets. Talk about making more work for oneself last minute. I made sure to have a backup dress planned but between decorating, food prep and set up, I managed to sew it up right. Success!

Welcome 2015! // Boots & Cats

Looking back at the blog this year, I am very proud of what I have produced, even though I fell behind the posting schedule I’d originally planned. I am still working to strike the balance for making good content and using my time efficiently to get it done. Many of the things I am posting include projects or techniques I have never tried before, which will always take up more time. A personal shining moment was in taking the leap and doing a full DIY graphic redesign of the site. There are a few (responsive) kinks to iron out, but we’re getting there.

Welcome 2015! // Boots & Cats

Your favourite posts from 2014 included:

  1. A photo shoot featuring my cat Cinnamon (cats will always reign supreme)
  2. A refashion of a wild vintage dress
  3. My halloween costume from How to Steal a Million
  4. The cat-crazy Belladone dress
  5. Learning how to arm knit

Welcome 2015! // Boots & Cats

Now that the balloons have been popped, the confetti has settled, I am hoping 2015 will be filled with new sewing adventures, unique DIYs, interior crafts and many more cats! The big goal for Boots & Cats this year is to reach post #100, which means I should be posting about 3 times a month. New projects are already in the works and I can’t wait to share. Thanks for coming along for the ride and wish you a very happy 2015!

Leave a Reply

