Flower Power Pt. 1 // Tilly and the Buttons Coco Top

IMG_8411

Well hello there friends! It’s been a while. Spring has come in roaring and ready this year, basically kicking off with a few weeks of summer-like weather before settling back into its normal routine. Flowers are steadily popping up from the ground and I am finally getting around to sharing some cute floral numbers I sewed up literally about a year ago. (Better late than never!).

The story begins with this irresistible daisy jacquard knit from Blackbird Fabrics. It was selling like hot-cakes and I snuck in my order with the last 1m they had left. I sent an email to see if there was a little bit extra at the end of the roll and thankfully I was able to snag an extra half meter! Woohoo. Now the question was, what would I actually do with it? See, I had no plans when I asked for more…just regular old fabric stash hoarding.

It’s a light, summery print, but the knit is quite warm and squishy so I needed a pattern that would work for all seasons. I eventually narrowed down to either the True Bias Marlo sweater or a Tilly and the Buttons Coco sweater. Both would be so perfect but I couldn’t choose and I didn’t have enough to sew two sweaters…or did I?

IMG_9019

I started getting creative with my pattern pieces and noticed that if I made *cropped* versions of both patterns, I could juuuuust squeeze both onto this yardage. I could have my cake and eat it too! I am planning to write a larger post soon about how I actually managed to pull off this fabric wizardry but for now, sweater number one: The Coco Top.

The Coco pattern already has such a retro 60s vibe with the wide roll neck, so making a cropped version feels like a natural fit. I cut a size 3 of the pattern and naturally had to make a few adjustments. I chose to crop the length at the waist  ‘lengthen/shorten’ line and then added 1 inch for a wide hem. I also eased the curve into the waist and made it fall more straight down from the bust.

IMG_8383

As per my usual tall-gal adjustment, I added 2 cm to sleeve length, but after sewing it up and trying it on I realized the sleeves were still a wee bit too short for my preferences. (It was totally wearable but I like my sleeves to basically cover my whole hands, especially in snuggly fabric.) To combat this I went back into my off cuttings and was able to cut out two rectangles and added little cuffs to the ends of the sleeve. It makes the top a little more casual feeling but it also feels pretty natural on such a plushy knit.

In my creative pattern finagling, I couldn’t cut the neck piece on the fold (which would have one center back seamline), and so I had to cut it in two and have two seams. I aligned them at the shoulders and you can’t really tell. One thing I didn’t consider was the thickness of the fabric affecting the rolling over of the neckline. I didn’t have much fabric room to play with, but in the future if I were making this pattern in a thicker knit, I would make it a little taller so it would fully roll over properly. Again, not a big deal and it doesn’t change the overall outcome, but its one of those small details.

IMG_8347

As for construction, it zipped up super quickly in an afternoon, just using the overlocker and ta da! It’s been pretty fun playing with ways to style the sweater. I had assumed it would be more of a spring/fall garment but I found myself digging it out over the winter and wearing with wool skirts for a serious retro look.

Stay tuned for part two with the Marlo Sweater!

2 thoughts on “Flower Power Pt. 1 // Tilly and the Buttons Coco Top

  1. Pingback: Flower Power Pt. 2 // True Bias Marlo Sweater | Boots and Cats

  2. Pingback: Get The Most Out of Your Fabric // Tips for Efficient Cutting | Boots and Cats

Leave a comment